Sealed Air has elected Jerry Whitaker, a member of its Board of Directors, as non-executive Chairman of the Board.

Effective May 17, Whitaker succeeds William J. Marino, who has retired from the Board after serving as Chairman since 2014.

“It is a privilege to assume the role of Chairman of the Board for Sealed Air, and I look forward to creating the most value for our shareholders as we progress in the Sealed Air story,” said Jerry Whitaker.

Whitaker was first elected to the Board in January 2012. Previously, Whitaker served as President of Power Components & Systems Group from 2004 through 2009 and as President of Electrical Sector-Americas, Eaton Corporation, a global manufacturer of highly engineered products, until his retirement in June 2011. Prior thereto, he served in various management positions at Eaton Corporation since 1994, following a 22-year career with Westinghouse Electric Corp.

“Jerry’s unique industry perspective and expertise, coupled with his knowledge of Sealed Air and history of leadership, will help guide our long-term business strategy,” said Ted Doheny, President and CEO of Sealed Air. “I am pleased to continue working with Jerry to deliver solutions that leave our world, environment and communities better than we found them. We thank Bill Marino for setting the stage for Jerry and for his dedication and guidance over the years. We wish him all the best.”

In addition to Jerry Whitaker, the following seven incumbent directors have been reelected: Michael Chu, Ted Doheny, Patrick Duff, Henry Keizer, Jacqueline Kosecoff, Neil Lustig and Richard Wambold.